CHOOSE DREAMS OVER SLEEP
Hotel Nassau Breda offers you a one of a kind experience in a passionately restored religious historical setting. The stunning architecture combined with our luxurious services and facilities, will ensure no one is invulnerable to the guilty pleasures of life. Choose dreams over sleep. Hotel Nassau Breda, the best hotel by far for those that don’t seek a hotel but seek an experience instead. Heavenly beds, demonic events, angelic staff and a food sanctuary with the devout name ‘Liefdegesticht', the Asylum of Love. Hotel Nassau Breda is an expansive complex of various national monuments on one of Breda’s oldest streets. Discover the history of this extraordinary location. We will lead you into temptation, and we’ll never call it evil. Your sins are safe with us. We have nothing to confess.
Three court houses in historical Breda
Nieuwstraat is one of Breda’s oldest streets. ‘De Nieuwe Strate’ appears on the earliest maps of Breda, such as a street plan from 1350. Nieuwstraat is therefore one of historical Breda’s core streets. Completed in 1410, the first city rampart was located behind Nieuwstraat.
On these grounds, between ‘De Nieuwe Strate’ and the city walls, which was owned by the influential Bruheze family, three court houses were constructed as homes for noblemen, who were each connected in their own way to the nearby Castle of Breda and its residents.
The first house, Nieuwstraat 21, remained the property of the Bruheze family for a long time. Only after its sale to Lambrecht, Lord of Waelwijc, in 1539, did the house receive its current name of Huis Waelwijk. The name of Bruheze is tied to the middle court residence, now Nieuwstraat 23, even though the last owner from the Bruheze family left the house in 1585. The current Huis Bruheze was built in its current form between 1820 and 1840.
The most history is contained in Nieuwstraat 25. As early as 1371, the house at that address was bought by Jan van Polanen III, Lord of Breda. After several generations of legitimate and illegitimate sons, the house was inherited in 1508 by Adriana van Nassau, who was married to Dirk van Assendelft, court nobleman and ‘schout’, a type of sheriff. The house had been called Huis Assendelft since about 1530. The tower behind this house is original, while the rest of the current property dates back to the mid-16th century.
The Order of Franciscan Sisters
The resurrection of the neo-Gothic chapel.
In 1805, Huis Assendelft was purchased by the Parish of Holy Anthony in order to found a Roman Catholic Orphanage there in 1806. In 1849, The Order of Franciscan Sisters settled into Huis Assendelft, which they renamed ‘Liefdegesticht’, the Asylum of Love. In 1903, the sisters started a new construction in the nearby grounds of the former soap factory. They created a neo-Gothic chapel, as well as the brick expansion of the Liefdegesticht. In 1934, the Franciscan Sisters further expanded their empire with the purchase of Huis Bruheze at no. 23. Its final expansion took place in 1950, when the sisters also purchased Huis Waelwijk and gave the complex its current basic shape.
Breda history revived
Leaving the Nieuwstraat only in 1991, the sisters knocked through the walls of all their properties, thus creating the impossible labyrinth that still remains hidden behind the closed façade wall. After their departure, the complex was repurposed for student housing and small businesses in 1992. The convent consisting of five national monuments was vacant from 1998 until 19 August 2013, when the complex was purchased by its current owner. Restoration started, and Hotel Nassau Breda was officially born on 2 May 2016.